SAP S/4HANA MCP server: which routes exist and what to vet
As of 2026-10-18
There is no single, official "S/4HANA MCP server" in our verified catalogue (18 October 2026). You reach S/4HANA through one of four routes: an SAP Integration Suite MCP server artefact built on S/4HANA APIs, the AWS for SAP MCP server, the community OData-to-MCP server for BTP, or an RFC wrapper. They differ mainly in who governs the call and under which identity it runs.
The routes, one line each
Integration Suite MCP server artefact — Maintainer: SAP · How: built inside Integration Suite from API artefacts, OpenAPI-described HTTP endpoints or RFC backends, exposed as governed tools, resources and prompts · Status and licence: not stated in the catalogue.
AWS for SAP MCP Server — Maintainer: AWS · How: container on Amazon Bedrock AgentCore, HTTP, discoverable OData V2 and V4 access with service discovery, reads, optional writes and function imports, plus allow-listing · Covers S/4HANA, ECC, SuccessFactors and BTP.
SAP OData to MCP on BTP — Maintainer: community, MIT · How: Node server for Cloud Foundry exposing S/4HANA or ECC OData services through three discovery-and-execute tools.
SAP RFC MCP — Maintainer: community, MIT, stdio · How: calls function modules and reads their metadata over RFC; the project states it is not an official SAP product.
SAP GUI MCP from Hochfrequenz — Maintainer: vendor, MIT, stdio · How: drives SAP GUI scripting or WebGUI in Chrome, aimed at testing and screenshots rather than data access.
What an assistant can do through them
With the OData routes an assistant can discover which services exist, read entity sets and, where writes are enabled, create or change business objects and call function imports. With RFC it can call function modules, which is broader and less self-describing than OData. With the GUI route it can only do what a user could do on screen.
For development rather than business data, SAP ships separate servers: the ADT MCP server (local HTTP, described as experimental in its tutorial) lets an assistant create packages and activate ABAP objects. That is a different job from reading sales orders, and it needs a different approval path.
Local or remote
The community RFC and GUI servers run over stdio on a developer machine. The AWS server and the BTP OData server are network services, the first on Bedrock AgentCore and the second on Cloud Foundry; the BTP one lists both transports. Remote means you own network exposure, token handling and logging for an endpoint that can reach your ERP.
Authentication is the deciding question
Our concept notes record the supported identity paths: for on-premise S/4HANA, principal propagation through Cloud Connector; for S/4HANA Cloud Public Edition, the OAuth2 SAML bearer assertion. Both carry the end user, so S/4HANA authorisation objects still apply. A shared technical user does not, and it hides who did what in the change documents.
Before production check four things: read versus write scope per tool, allow-lists of services, whether the identity is the user or a service account, and where the call is logged. SAP's API policy, as summarised in our notes, restricts agentic use of SAP APIs to SAP-endorsed architectures and the Integration Suite MCP gateway is one of the cited routes. A proxy you built yourself is the case to raise with SAP before launch.
Relation to Joule and agent platforms
Joule is SAP's own assistant and ships S/4HANA-specific capabilities, for example in finance. Where you want a custom agent to call S/4HANA data, Joule Studio can attach MCP servers to a Joule agent, and an MCP server on the Integration Cell runtime can be registered in Joule Work Desktop (part of SAP's Early Adopter Care programme, not generally available). Both are described on SAP Help; neither names an S/4HANA-specific server.
If your need is market intelligence around S/4HANA projects, such as consultancies, rates and live opportunities, the Analytics Legends MCP offers read-only tools; it does not connect to your ERP.
What we cannot assert
Status, licence and transport of the Integration Suite MCP server artefact are not stated in the catalogue.
Frequently asked
Does SAP provide an official MCP server for S/4HANA?
Not as a standalone product in our catalogue. SAP's route is an MCP server artefact built in Integration Suite on top of your S/4HANA APIs.
Can an AI assistant write to S/4HANA through MCP?
The AWS server offers optional writes and function imports with allow-listing; the community OData server uses discovery-and-execute tools. Whether writes are possible depends on configuration, so disable them first and enable per service.
Is the community OData-to-MCP server safe for production?
It is an MIT-licensed community project. Treat it like any third-party integration: security review, named owner, exit plan, and no shared technical user.
Which route keeps S/4HANA user authorisations?
The ones that propagate the end user: principal propagation via Cloud Connector on-premise, or the SAML bearer assertion on Public Edition, as recorded in our concept notes.
Engage the editor
This guide is written by Cédric Mary, SAP AI & Analytics Architect & Team Lead. 27 years of SAP — Datasphere, Business Data Cloud, SAC Planning, Joule. Freelance or permanent · Hybrid / remote · Anywhere in EMEA. Available from 19 October 2026.
What this page is built on
- MCP — Model Context Protocol in SAP (mechanics)
- MCP for SAP — Adoption & Integration Strategy
- AWS for SAP MCP Server — AWS documentation
- SAP OData to MCP on BTP (community) — GitHub
- SAP RFC MCP (community) — GitHub
- SAP Integration Suite MCP Server — SAP Help
External sources
- AWS for SAP MCP Server — AWS documentation
- SAP OData to MCP on BTP (community) — GitHub
- SAP RFC MCP (community) — GitHub
- SAP Integration Suite MCP Server — SAP Help
- Model Context Protocol — specification changelog, revision 2026-07-28
- Model Context Protocol — Authorization (2026-07-28)
Read next
- SAP MCP server for SAP AI & analytics data
- SAP MCP servers list: what exists, who maintains it, what it does
- SAP S/4HANA
- Clean Core Principle
- MCP Authorization — OAuth 2.0 + Tier-Based API Gating
Guides that answer with this page
These guides cite this page as one of the sources their answer rests on.